2023 John R. Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Award recipients

7 hours ago
SEC staff

Photo: SEC staff

LOS ANGELES, CA (October 4, 2022) – Dawn Staley will receive the John R. Wooden Award “Legends of Coaching” in 2023. Wood coach’s grandson-in-law Craig Impelman and 2021 recipient Dave Yanai proudly announced his selection at Los Angeles Athletics Club Annual Wood Award Tip- Off Luncheon. The event featured head coaches from the Division I men’s basketball programs in Southern California. The “Legends of Coaching” designation recognizes coaches who exemplify the high standards of Coaching success and personal integrity.

The “Legend of Coach” award was adopted by the Wooden Awards Steering Committee in 1999. Honorees are selected based on character, on-court success, student graduation rate. athlete-athlete in their basketball program, coaching philosophy, and goal setting of the John R. Wooden Award. She will be honored alongside the winners of the 2023 Wood Prize on April 7, 2023.

Coach Staley, a native of Philadelphia, PA, began her coaching career at Temple University, where she led the Owls to six NCAA appearances during her eight years in charge. She guided the University of South Carolina to incredible heights during her 14 years of coaching there. She has led the Gamecocks to two national championships (2017 & 2022), four Finals, six SEC regular season championships, six SEC championships, and has coached two Award winners. John R. Wooden (A’ja Wilson in 2018 & Aliyah Boston in 2022). She has also won three Olympic gold medals as a coach for the USA Women’s Basketball team, two as an assistant coach (2008 & 2016) and one as a head coach (2020).

Staley’s achievements also contributed to her incredible playing career. As the National Player of the Year at the University of Virginia, she led the Cavaliers to three Finals and was named the tournament’s Player of the Year in 1991. A six-time WNBA All Star, on In 2011, she was named to the WNBA’s 15 Greatest Players of All Time, honoring the top players from the first 15 years of the league. On the international stage, Staley has won three Olympic gold medals (1996, 2000 & 2004). In recognition of her stellar playing career, she was inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013.

Off the court, Coach Staley has become a signal in her community. She is the co-founder of INNERSOLE, which provides new sneakers for homeless and disadvantaged children. Following her competitive career, the WNBA created the Dawn Staley Community Leadership Award, which is presented annually to a player who exemplifies leadership traits in the community in which she lives or work.

John R. Wooden Award

The Legend of Coaching Honorees

2023 Dawn Staley, South Carolina

2022 Rick Byrd, Belmont

2021 Dave Yanai, Cal State Dominguez Hills / Los Angeles

2020 C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers

2019 Lon Kruger, Oklahoma

2018 Jay Wright, Villanova

2017 Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame

2016 Tubby Smith, Texas Tech

2015 Steve Fisher, San Diego State

2014 Tara VanDerveer, Stanford

2013 Bill Self, Kansas

2012 Geno Auriemma, Connecticut

2011 Tom Izzo, State of Michigan

2010 Billy Donovan, Florida

2009 Rick Barnes, Texas

2008 Pat Summitt, Tennessee

2007 Gene Keady, Purdue

2006 Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

2005 Jim Calhoun, Connecticut

2004 Mike Montgomery, Stanford

2003 Roy Williams, Kansas

2002 Denny Crum, Louisville

2001 Lute Olson, Arizona

2000 Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

1999 Dean Smith, North Carolina

About the John R. Wooden Award

Founded in 1976, the John R. Wooden Awards Program hosts the most prestigious honors in college basketball recognizing Best Men’s and Women’s Players Wood Awards, All-American Wood Awards for the men’s and women’s teams and the annual Voting Legend of the Coach recipient’s wooden award. Honorees have demonstrated to their university that they meet or exceed the standards of the John R. Wooden Award set forth by Coach Wooden and the Wooden Awards Steering Committee, including making progress. to graduate and maintain at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA. Previous winners include Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Kevin Durant (’07), Candace Parker (’07; ’08), Maya Moore (’09). ; ’11), Chiney Ogwumike (’14), and last year’s recipients, Aliyah Boston of South Carolina and Oscar Tshiebwe of Kentucky.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed nearly a million dollars to a college scholarship fund called the All-American Wood Award and has sent more than 1,000 children unlucky kids go to week-long college basketball camps. In addition, the John R. Wooden Award partners with the annual Southern California Special Olympics (SOSC) to host the Southern California Special Olympics Basketball Tournament. The one-day tournament brings together Special Olympics and All-American Woods athletes and coaches in attendance. It was held at the Los Angeles Athletic Club during the John R. Wooden Award Weekend weekend.

The Legendary Trainer Awards will be presented alongside the Men’s and Women’s Wood Players of the Year on April 7, 2023. For updates on the Wooden Awards, please visit and follow the Wood Award on Facebook at and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram.


Kig News: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button