8 schools have won CWS

23 hours ago
Joe Menzer | SEC Network

Photo: Eric Francis / Getty Images

Home to College World Series baseball, the city of Omaha in Nebraska has long been the destination of choice for Southeastern Conference school teams.

With Ole Miss winning this year’s CWS to claim the show’s first national title, residents of Omaha can count on their city being overrun by SEC teams and rabid fans. them every June.

The CWS began in 1947 to determine baseball’s national champion each year, and the SEC has clearly enjoyed its success. More recently, the convention has enjoyed a share of the success of a proverbial lion, accustomed to destroying all non-conference competition in its path.

Eight of the last 13 national champions crowned at the end of the College World Series were Southeastern Conference teams, with South Carolina winning consecutive titles in 2010 and 2011, Vanderbilt also winning two. times (2014 and 2019), and one crowning has been claimed by Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Florida and LSU.

CWS 2020 has been canceled because of the coronavirus pandemic. So, taking into account 2019 winner Vanderbilt, SEC schools have won three and five of the most recent eight national championships, since Vandy’s first title in 2014. Furthermore, the SEC has already won three and five of the last eight national championships. have a national champion or runner-up – or both – in 13 of the last 14 University World Series.

In other words, there’s only been one CWS national championship without at least one SEC school since 2008. Twice the finals were all SEC events – in 2017 when Florida overtook LSU and in 2021 when the State of Mississippi overtakes Vanderbilt.

Half of the 2022 CWS field consists of eight teams made up of SEC schools – not just Ole Miss, but Arkansas, Texas A&M and Auburn.

Every SEC coach appreciates making the trip to the CWS, as evidenced by the comments made by Texas A&M coach Jim Schlossnagle when he arrived here this year when he called Omaha “beautiful gates of college baseball.” But each year, regardless of what has been achieved along the way, only one team can rise to the top like Ole Miss did this year.

Click on the logos below of these SEC schools that have achieved this to learn more about each of their journeys to the pinnacle of college baseball:

Source link


Kig News: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button