Imran Khan to contest all 33 parliamentary seats in upcoming bypolls | India News

LAHORE: Prime Minister of Pakistan overthrown Imran Khan his party has announced it will contest all 33 seats in parliament in a vote to be held in March. Speaking at a news conference here on Sunday night, the vice president and former ministry Pakistan Foreign Minister Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Shah Mahmood Qureshi said the decision was made during the party’s core committee meeting.
“Imran khan would be PTI’s sole candidate in all 33 parliamentary seats. The decision was made during the party’s core committee meeting chaired by Khan at Zaman Park Lahore on Sunday,” Qureshi said.
On Friday, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced that the votes for the 33 seats in the National Assembly will be held on 16 March.
Khan’s party has left the National Assembly, the lower house of Pakistan’s parliament, after he was ousted in April in a parliamentary vote of no confidence.
However, Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf did not accept the resignation and said he needed to verify separately whether the legislators had voluntarily resigned.
Last month, the speaker accepted the resignations of 35 PTI lawmakers, after which the ECP canceled their notice.
The speaker later also accepted another 35 applications (and the ECP canceled their notice), and the remaining 43 resignations of PTI legislators after Khan announced his return to Parliament to bring the Prime Minister into office. Prime minister. Shehbaz Sharif to the vote of confidence.
The ECP has yet to cancel the notice to the 43 PTI legislators. If the ECP cancels notice to the remaining 43 PTI legislators, Khan’s party will be virtually wiped out of Parliament.
Last October, Khan ran for eight seats in parliament after the speaker accepted 11 resignations from PTI lawmakers. Khan won six of them.
The nine-party federal coalition (Pakistan Democratic Movement) said it may not take part in the by-elections. If the PDM is consistent with its decision, PTI can win all the seats without any problems.
Of the 33 votes for lower house seats, 12 will be held in Punjab province, eight in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, three in Islamabad, nine in Sindh and one in Balochistan.
Earlier this month, Khan’s PTI also dissolved provincial assemblies in the Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provinces where his party is in power, to push the Shehbaz Sharif government to call for snap polls.
PTI has filed in court against acting minister governor for not giving Punjab election date. After dissolving a council, the care mechanism must hold polls within 90 days according to the constitution.
Qureshi said it will move the high court in KP against the governor and acting minister for not giving an election date in the province.


Kig News: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button