Three SEC track and field athletes named to Bowerman men’s finals

23 hours ago
SEC staff

Photo: Southeast Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (June 28, 2022) – Arkansas track and field celebrity Ayden Owens-Delerme has been selected as a finalist for The Bowerman, according to an announcement Tuesday by the American Association of Athletics and Track and Field Coaches. (USTFCCCA).

Owens-Delerme was among three male finalists selected by the Bowerman Advisory Board. Other finalists were Trey Cunningham of Florida State and Randolph Ross of North Carolina A&T.

The female finalists were announced on Monday, and they include Anna Hall of Florida and Abby Steiner of Kentucky. Of the six male and female finalists, three were from the SEC.

Bowerman is the highest honor given to the school’s best track and field athletes of the year. An SEC male athlete has won the Bowerman in six of the past seven years, with the award being presented: Texas A&M’s Deon Lendore in 2014, Florida’s Marquis Dendy in 2015, Arkansas’ Jarrion Lawson in 2016, Tennessee’s Christian Coleman in 2016. 2017, Florida’s Grant Holloway in 2019 and LSU’s JuVaughn Harrison in 2021.

The SEC has had 30 finalists since The Bowerman’s founding in 2009, leading all conferences. Owens-Delerme is the second Arkansas male to make it to the finals, joining Lawson in 2016.

An SEC female athlete has won Bowerman on the last three occasions: Georgia’s Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU’s Sha’Carri Richardson in 2019 and Texas A&M’s Athing Mu in 2021.

Online fan voting for The Bowerman begins Tuesday at 3 p.m. CT at Bowerman will be introduced in December at the annual USTFCCCA Conference held in Denver.

Source link


Kig News: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button